November 21, 2008

Hidden Gluten

Gluten is, of course, in wheat, barley, rye, breads, pastas, cakes, crackers, etc. However, there are unsuspecting foods and ingredients out there that contain gluten. Below is a list of foods that contain “hidden” gluten. Become familiar with the names of ingredients that contain gluten. Just because a label doesn’t say “gluten” in the ingredient list, does not mean it is gluten-free. So, please, be careful!

  • soy sauce (buy gluten free tamari instead)

  • malt vinegar

  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP)

  • malt or malt flavoring

  • Modified Food Starch

  • pre-packaged chicken, beef and vegetable stocks – unless it clearly says “gluten free”

  • the following words in an ingredient list usually means there is gluten: stabilizer, starch, flavoring, emulsifier, hydrolyzed plant protein

  • This is only a partial list. Please become familiar with these ingredients and always read labels!

    1 comment:

    Laura said...

    Thanks!!! so helpful!

    Living gluten free... naturally