October 3, 2008


So are oats gluten free or not?! Believe it or not, that’s a pretty big question! Naturally, oats do not contain gluten. However, gluten is often found in oats because of cross-contamination. The oats are harvested right next to the wheat or are planted in soil that used to contain wheat, so they become contaminated. But now, a gluten free family in Wyoming is offering gluten free oats. That’s right – you can have your oats and eat them too! The company is aptly named Gluten Free Oats. Their website contains quite a bit of information on their oats and their testing practices. I started buying their oats last year and I love them! It’s so nice to be able to have a bowl of oatmeal again. If you do decide to purchase their oats, try a little bit at a time to see how you react. Better safe than sorry!

One of my favorite ways to prepare oatmeal…
Just before it is done, add half of a chopped apple and some cinnamon. Add a touch of raw honey or pure maple syrup, if desired, for added sweetness. Top with slivered almonds or chopped walnuts. Your own apple-cinnamon oatmeal – without all the preservatives and chemicals of the “fake” stuff!

No comments:

Living gluten free... naturally